I figure that no one reads this anyways so it's perfectly fine to essentially write a journal entry because I'm too lazy to go upstairs to get mine and be legit and everything. So here's what been on my mind for the past year.
But first of all, I'm not sure why I didn't keep posting things on this blog! I really loved doing it last summer, I guess I just got busy. I think I'm going to start it up again because, hey, I have nothing better to do.
And more on that note.... So I decided to come home for the summer {serious shocker} because I felt like I needed a break from Rexburg and all it's pressures and memories. I have come to realize that I have a phobia of memories. Maybe it is something real, hold on let me google it....
Okay so basically there is one called Mnemophobia and it is for those who are afraid of having memories and is usually associated with people with Alzheimers... perfect. But there is something that is just called "phobia of memories" and symptoms are trying to avoid thinking about memories and a sense of anxiety with memories... I think I have that. WEIRD. And I could try to explain why but I have no idea! I just don't like remembering things good or bad. Like for instance, EFY is the best thing ever but I don't like listening to the CD's anymore because I don't like thinking about those times. I don't drive certain places because people used to live there. And I didn't like being in Rexburg because there are memories all over the place. I'm insane I swear. Oh, and completely irrational.
Anyways, I just decided to come back, work and save up for something amazing when I gradate- NEW ZEALAND. But two weeks after coming home I felt like I shouldn't go, that I should buy a car and plan something else for after graduation. Bummer. As days passed I wanted a car more and more and I was going to save to buy a pretty expensive one but as soon as I find a cheap but still good and cute and not crappy one I am buying it! So I have just about two more weeks before I can start seriously looking :) And I'm really excited about that! Anyways... back to my sulking.
Being home is hard. Really hard. I have to share a room with my older sister because she is living home (and of course the two other rooms in the house are completely unavailable... ?!) too, my parents don't know the password to their internet so I can't use my own laptop or the internet on my phone (hence I'm on my mom's computer), we are sharing one car for four people with different work schedules so I can't drive myself to work let alone go anywhere when I just need to get out, my parents eat food that I don't even touch at school so it's messing with my "diet" and making me fat [haha], and to top it off: I don't even have a house key of my own. Is it just me or does that sound terrible? It sounds terrible. It is terrible. I can't even come and go without knocking on the door and relying on someone else to let me in. After three years of being entirely on my own this is like being five again. I'm not a kid anymore!! I've been in a really crabby mood for the past few weeks because this place is killing me! Not to mention that I don't even like Needham anyways, trust me 15 years of living here counted for more like 17,873,221 years.
Anyways, I could go on and on because I have a lot more on my mind (like the fact that I have like 2 friends here and never even see them and don't get to talk to my friends who are having loads of fun in Rexburg very often) but I'm too sick of thinking about it anymore, haha. And I don't even know why I'm going to post this but what the heck, no one is even gonna read it anyways!!
Moving home was a bad idea.
My Tip Tops of Life
Tuesday, May 29, 2012
Saturday, September 17, 2011
Senioritis.
It took exactly 3.4 nano seconds into my first class on Monday morning to realize that I have the disease. I didn't want to be there, didn't want to listen, do homework and especially not wake up. This, my friends, is going to be one heck of a year. I can't. wait.
[insert loads of sarcasm here]
But on a happier note... I have found a new celebrity idol! Not sure if that's something to be proud of or even want but when asked who my favorite celebrity is, I never have an answer. While at home I watched a lot of Laguna Beach and not to mention the first four seasons of the Hills in about a week. And I love Lauren Conrad. She has always been so nice and classy from the very first episode of Laguna Beach. She is a loyal friend but still knows how to stick up for herself. She makes the most of her life, is happy being single and is driven like a brand new car. And that's not even mentioning the fact that she is beautiful, has amazing style and her signature winged eyeliner and braided headband have become fashion legends. She is what I love! So, I have realized that she, LC, is my new idol.
Watch the Hills, check out her website &/or follow her on twitter and you'll love her, too.
laurenconrad.com
I need to post more! I will think of some fun ideas... school is just taking up all my energy!
Yes I said energy and not time :P
Toodles you poodles!
[insert loads of sarcasm here]
But on a happier note... I have found a new celebrity idol! Not sure if that's something to be proud of or even want but when asked who my favorite celebrity is, I never have an answer. While at home I watched a lot of Laguna Beach and not to mention the first four seasons of the Hills in about a week. And I love Lauren Conrad. She has always been so nice and classy from the very first episode of Laguna Beach. She is a loyal friend but still knows how to stick up for herself. She makes the most of her life, is happy being single and is driven like a brand new car. And that's not even mentioning the fact that she is beautiful, has amazing style and her signature winged eyeliner and braided headband have become fashion legends. She is what I love! So, I have realized that she, LC, is my new idol.
Watch the Hills, check out her website &/or follow her on twitter and you'll love her, too.
laurenconrad.com
I need to post more! I will think of some fun ideas... school is just taking up all my energy!
Yes I said energy and not time :P
Toodles you poodles!
Sunday, September 4, 2011
The Funniest Article I Have Ever Read.
I stumbled upon this article and it's sequel the other day when surfing the world wide web. I can't remember the last time I chuckled so much. It is titled: "What Your Taste in Music Says About You On a Date"and basically it lists bands with statements attached that would essentially explain your personality. For a music junky like me, I found it hilarious... and surprisingly accurate.
Here are a few of my favorites:
Rod Stewart: You’re gross.
John Mayer: You’re a virgin.
The Cure: You fall in love WAY too easily. [so true :)]
Nickelback: You have low self-esteem and bad tattoos. But, God bless you.
Mandy Moore: You have American Girl dolls. Plural.
Cat Power: You’re already getting over our inevitable break-up.
Weezer: Awkward. And proud of it.
Lady Gaga: You’re sort of obnoxious, but people can’t help but like you.
Jack Johnson: You think you’re chill and easygoing, but really you’re just afraid of commitment.
The Beatles: Eh. Who knows.
Check out these articles for a laugh:
What Your Taste in Music Says About You on a Date
What ELSE Your Taste in Music Says About You on a Date
Also, let us celebrate Kelly Clarkson's 9th anniversary of winning the first American Idol! Woohoo!!
BYE.
Here are a few of my favorites:
Rod Stewart: You’re gross.
John Mayer: You’re a virgin.
The Cure: You fall in love WAY too easily. [so true :)]
Nickelback: You have low self-esteem and bad tattoos. But, God bless you.
Mandy Moore: You have American Girl dolls. Plural.
Cat Power: You’re already getting over our inevitable break-up.
Weezer: Awkward. And proud of it.
Lady Gaga: You’re sort of obnoxious, but people can’t help but like you.
Jack Johnson: You think you’re chill and easygoing, but really you’re just afraid of commitment.
The Beatles: Eh. Who knows.
Check out these articles for a laugh:
What Your Taste in Music Says About You on a Date
What ELSE Your Taste in Music Says About You on a Date
Also, let us celebrate Kelly Clarkson's 9th anniversary of winning the first American Idol! Woohoo!!
BYE.
Thursday, September 1, 2011
My Wannabe Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies
So tonight I thought I would make some chocolate chip cookies for my parents... but we used the rest of our eggs in the frittata that my dad made for dinner! So this was a better time than ever to try out VEGAN baking! I hear it's all the rage these days...
I got this recipe from another blog and made a few adjustments of my own [because I make for a terrible wannabe vegan...]
ORIGINAL RECIPE:
I got this recipe from another blog and made a few adjustments of my own [because I make for a terrible wannabe vegan...]
ORIGINAL RECIPE:
Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Kirsten's Kitchen
2 cups flour
1 cup turbinado sugar (or granulated sugar)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup dark chocolate chips/chunks (make sure they're vegan!)
2/3 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup soy/almond milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp dark molasses
- Preheat oven to 350 degrees
- In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and chocolate chips.
- In another bowl, combine the vegetable oil, milk, vanilla, and molasses.
- Add the wet mixture to the dry and mix well with a wooden spoon or your hands to get the mixture well incorporated.
- Roll dough into compact balls, place on a parchment paper-lined pan, and squish them down to form saucers.
- Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes. Let cookies cool for 5 minutes on the pan before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
Recipe yields about 16 cookies.
(http://www.ericasweettooth.com/2011/05/vegan-chocolate-chip-cookies.html)
MY RECIPE:
2 cups flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 t salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (about 1/2 a bag or less)
2/3 cup unsalted butter
1/4 heavy cream (yeah... we didn't even have milk but any milk would be great!)
2 T vanilla (I'm always vanilla happy)
1 T molasses
I followed the same directions and baked them for nine minutes at 350 degrees.
So basically I made a botched version of vegan cookies and they were delicious! I would definitely try out this recipe (whether you follow the original, or mine)! My batch made 24 fairly big cookies. They bake up really well and they are soft and chewy!
So try it out and let me know how it works out for you because this has proven to be a good recipe when you're in a pinch and don't have hardly any ingredients for real chocolate chip cookies!
Wednesday, August 31, 2011
Insomnia.
I just posted a couple hours ago but I thought I would just point out that it is currently 8:04 am and I have yet to go to sleep. I always thought it was kind of funny that some people just cannot seem to pull an all nighter, even at a slumber party because I can stay up all night no problem!
I turn into a full out insomniac when I come home and I think it's because either:
1. I have black out shades in my room so it is for the most part always pitch black.
2. I don't have anything to do during the days, so I might as well sleep them away.
or 3. This darn computer and stinking cat and baby sloth videos on youtube.
I really need a life.
Also, on this date in 1422, Henry VI became king at the ripe old age of nine months. I would have liked to see how that worked out for them British folk... AND THEN... two months later (at 11 months of age) he also became the king of France. I can only imagine the good times they must of had when their king couldn't even walk let alone rule two freakin' countries!
Now I really need a life if I am giving history lessons at this time in the morning.
Goodnight to you all, have a sun-shiny day while I sleep :)
I turn into a full out insomniac when I come home and I think it's because either:
1. I have black out shades in my room so it is for the most part always pitch black.
2. I don't have anything to do during the days, so I might as well sleep them away.
or 3. This darn computer and stinking cat and baby sloth videos on youtube.
I really need a life.
Also, on this date in 1422, Henry VI became king at the ripe old age of nine months. I would have liked to see how that worked out for them British folk... AND THEN... two months later (at 11 months of age) he also became the king of France. I can only imagine the good times they must of had when their king couldn't even walk let alone rule two freakin' countries!
Now I really need a life if I am giving history lessons at this time in the morning.
Goodnight to you all, have a sun-shiny day while I sleep :)
Oh. My. Gosh.
So I have a youtube account that I have posted five videos up on of random EFY things, a girl's camp video and improv show at BYU-I on but the most hilarious video was a music video of Pat Benetar's "Love is a Battlefield" that we (me, Melanie, Bryanna and Tycy) did winter semester freshman year. The music never went through because of copyright stuff but just now I just clicked on it to watch sans sound but to my surprise... IT WORKED. I died of embarrassment just watching it alone! It is sad, hilarious, strange and amazing all at the same time. It's crazy to think how we have changed in just over two years. I mean... everyone (but me of course) is married and Tycy even has a baby! It's fun to look back on old times so enjoy this epic but still excruciatingly humiliating video posted just for you.
Oh. My. Gosh.
PS... Some things to note: I like literally almost fall three times in this video, Bryanna creepily licks her lips in a close up, Melanie CANNOT do the choreographed dancing which was the most hilarious part, Melanie creepily caresses my arm and if you look I laugh aaaand again Melanie doesn't know the lyrics, haha! Just the whole video is one awkward, embarrassing moment...You better love it.
Oh. My. Gosh.
PS... Some things to note: I like literally almost fall three times in this video, Bryanna creepily licks her lips in a close up, Melanie CANNOT do the choreographed dancing which was the most hilarious part, Melanie creepily caresses my arm and if you look I laugh aaaand again Melanie doesn't know the lyrics, haha! Just the whole video is one awkward, embarrassing moment...You better love it.
Tuesday, August 30, 2011
August Favorites!
In the beauty community of YouTube every month, people post videos of their favorite products that they have found or have been using a lot. Annnnd I want in on the trend, so here are my favorites for this month!
#1 Maybelline Cream Eyeliner:
I have been wanting a cream/gel eyeliner for MONTHS but I never wanted to dish out the money! I was eyeing the Bobbi Brown one that is $21... then I went on a nationwide (literally) search for the wet n' wild's gel eyeliner that is only $4.50 and I could not find it in Idaho, Utah or Massachusetts! I gave up and got the one in the middle. This cream eyeliner costs $10 and I actually really like it! It doesn't budge when it sets, I love the smooth consistency and it is very black. The brush it comes with is pretty nice, too. It's a good size but the only thing is it is impossible to get a thin line with it and it's a little hard to make pointed wings. I can't wait to find my angled brush in all of my crap in Idaho! But this leads me to my next favorite....
#2 Winged Eyeliner
Not my eye (if you were wondering) but I loveeeeeee winged eyeliner. I just think it's simple but cute and girly and I just love it. I'm trying my best to be able to pull it off! It's a really fun look and is actually a lot harder to do than it looks. Now, what I love with winged eyeliner is a bright red lip. Too bad that is way too much for an everyday (or anyday) look or I would wear it everyday. To sum it up, I am obsessed with 50's-60's vintage, slightly pin-up stuff.
#3 got2b Rockin' It Dry Shampoo
If you have oily hair, this is the product for you! I have been trying to not wash my hair everyday because it's really bad for your hair but I have wicked oily hair! In high school I would use baby powder which would work but then you would smell like powder all day. Then last year I got the Tresemme dry shampoo which I hated! It made my hair one big clump of oily junk more like a tub of vaseline than anything. But I got this one with high hopes and it totally rocks! It smells so good, it actually works and leaved my hair literally feeling like I just washed it! It is so great and only like $5!
#4 J.R. Watkin's Mango Lotion
My new holy grail, will never find a better, amazing lotion! When I was a junior in high school I went to a flea market on Cape Cod and got a coconut mango lotion made by some lady... yeah... when I ran out I thought I was going to die because I would never find it again! I was in Whole Foods and just roaming the beauty aisle and I FOUND IT. This smells identical to the one I had before, same thick, beautiful, non-greasy cream and I love it.
#5 Benefit's Confessions of a Concealaholic
I broke down and bought another Benefit product, but I thought this was a great buy. This concealer palette comes with a primer (that smells like a lollipop), two basic cream concealers, erase paste (which is a gel-like, salmon colored concealer for under eye dark circles), eye bright (which brightens the eyes) and lemon-aid (which counteracts redness or other discoloration) for $36. Not bad seeing as you use hardly any product to get the job done! I love that it is all in one and Benefit's products always make doing your make up fun :)
#6 Maybelline Falsies Mascara
This is my favorite mascara because even though I naturally have long, curled eyelashes, I like a product that can really show it off! This is the perfect combination of volume and length in a mascara and the formulation of it is great. And I like the brush. I like everything about it except it kinda flakes throughout the day, I should try the waterproof one. I have had at least two people ask me this month if I was wearing false eyelashes and I credit this product for that!
#7 Big Sexy Hair Spray and Play Harder Hairspray
I have coveted this hairspray for quite some time because the full can is about $18 and I just can't justify spending that much on a hairspray. But at Ulta in Utah they had a trial size (that was pretty big) for $8 so I snatched it so fast. What makes this hairspray the greatest hairspray in the universe (literally) is that is volumizes like craaaazy. I use this hairspray either to set my teasing and it gives it an extra oopmh or after I curl my hair. It's like my hair magically doubles in thickness when I use it and for my fine goldilocks it's a dream come true. I. love. it. And I have no idea what I am going to do when I run out of this little can of heaven.
#7 Fresh Pineapple
Every time I go to the grocery store with my parents I sneak in one of those pre-sliced containers of fresh pineapple. I love it! It is so delicious and I think it might be the only thing I'm going to eat this coming semester. I just hope it's one of those health-benefiting fruits and I'll actually get something good out of it. I'll start a new trend... Pineapple is definitely the new grapefruit.
#8 Sally Hansen's Hard as Nails, Xtreme Wear in Mint Sorbet
If you know me at all you know this is my favorite color. I am OBSESSSSEEEEDDDDDD. When I got this I thought it wouldn't be the right color but two coats of this baby and it's like being in vintage, floral heaven! The only thing is that this is also the color of my sunglasses... so I think people think I'm weird when I have both on. I swear I don't purposely match everything I wear, I just can't get enough of this color.
#9 Target Teal "Ray Ban" Sunglasses
Well, I was talking about them so I thought I should include them since I wear them every single time I am outside... It would be sweet if I had 155 bucks to spare and had real Ray Ban Wayfarer sunglasses, but my $12 ones from target are awesome! Of course I couldn't find my sunglasses online but these are pretty close. The true color of mine are a little lighter and a more faded teal color. However, the only thing I hate about my Target ones is that the top paint layer on them totally has been peeling since I got them and the color under it is more true to this picture so part of it looks darker than the rest. Oh well, I still love them anyways.
Well, I can't think of a tenth product... I kinda just did this as I went along and it's late (or is it early...?) and I should be sleeping, haha. I hope you enjoyed my first monthly favorites!
Oh, and Happy Birthday to Cameron Diaz!!! Is she like 40 or something? I don't know... :D
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

